Main content

Latest Video

Opportunity knocks for Partington

12:00am  Jan 18, 2018

Welcome home Van Berlo

2:59pm  Jan 16, 2018

Simpson press conference 15.01.18

12:57pm  Jan 15, 2018

Plenty of growth for Watson

3:51pm  Jan 12, 2018

Captains tip Eagles to perform in 2017

Ashley Browne,  March 16, 2017 9:00 AM

AFL 2017 Portraits - West Coast Eagles

At least one captain thinks Luke Shuey could win the Brownlow Medal this year

The AFL captans have spoken and the verdict is in: West Coast is expected to do big things in season 2017.

Sixteen of a possible 17 captains said the Eagles should make the finals this year and one anonymous captain has tipped the club to reach the grand final at season's end.

All up, 11 different clubs were listed as potential finalists, while just four were tipped to make the grand final. Interestingly, two captains believed 2016 premiers, the Western Bulldogs, would miss the finals. 

Geelong’s Patrick Dangerfield was the choice of five captains to go back-to-back in the Brownlow Medal, while Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs), Dan Hannebery (Sydney) and Dustin Martin (Richmond) each polled two votes. 

West Coast's Luke Shuey was backed by one captain to take home Charlie at the end of the year.

Gold Coast spearhead Tom Lynch and Swans star Lance Franklin each received six votes as the likely Coleman medallist, ahead of 2016 winner Josh Kennedy, with four votes. 

Last year's No.1 draft pick, Essendon's Andrew McGrath, led the predictions to win the NAB AFL Rising Star with four votes, ahead of Tim Taranto from GWS and Port Adelaide's Sam Powell-Pepper who both received three votes. 

Full voting

Which seven other clubs do you think can make this year's top eight? (18 times seven selections)
Sydney (17), GWS (16), West Coast (16), Adelaide (15), Western Bulldogs (15), Geelong (14), Hawthorn (14), St Kilda (11), Melbourne (6), Essendon (1), Fremantle (1)

Which other club is most likely to reach the Grand Final? (No captains picked the Western Bulldogs in 2016)
GWS (14), Adelaide (1), Sydney (1), West Coast (1), Western Bulldogs (1) 

Who do you think will win the 2017 Brownlow Medal? (Four captains correctly nominated Patrick Dangerfield in 2016)
Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong, five votes), Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs, two votes), Dan Hannebery (Sydney, two votes), Dustin Martin (Richmond, two votes), Lance Franklin (Sydney, one vote), Max Gawn (Melbourne, one vote), Luke Shuey (West Coast, one vote), Rory Sloane (Adelaide, one vote), Adam Treloar (Collingwood, one vote), Callan Ward (GWS, one vote), Jobe Watson (Essendon, one vote) 

Who do you think will win the 2017 Coleman Medal? (Seven captains correctly nominated Josh Kennedy in 2016)
Lance Franklin (Sydney, six votes), Tom Lynch (Gold Coast, six votes), Josh Kennedy (West Coast, four votes), Jeremy Cameron (GWS, two votes)

Who do you think will win the 2017 NAB AFL Rising Star? (Seven captains correctly nominated Callum Mills in 2016)
Andrew McGrath (Essendon, four votes), Sam Powell-Pepper (Port Adelaide, three votes), Tim Taranto (GWS, three votes), Jacob Hopper (GWS, two votes), Hugh McCluggage (Brisbane Lions, two votes), Jack Bowes (Gold Coast, one vote), Sean Darcy (Fremantle, one vote), Caleb Marchbank (Carlton, one vote), Sam Petrevski-Seton (Carlton, one vote)