Main content

Latest Video

Eagle Vision airing this Saturday

3:45pm  Apr 20, 2018

Willie doing his family proud

12:01pm  Apr 20, 2018

Masten's new inspiration

8:58am  Apr 20, 2018

Last time we me the Blues

8:25am  Apr 20, 2018

Hurn catches coaches' eyes

Rhys Dickinson  May 15, 2017 3:37 PM

Shannon Hurn earned seven out of a possible 10 AFLCA votes on Friday night

Shannon Hurn earned seven out of a possible 10 AFLCA votes on Friday night

Elliot Yeo rocketed to the top of the AFL Coaches’ Association Champion Player of the Year award standings following his fine performance against the Western Bulldogs on Friday night.

Yeo’s five votes helped him leapfrog Adelaide midfielder Rory Sloane after the Crows’ midfielder was limited to just 11 touches against Melbourne due to a heavy tag by Demons’ run-with expert Bernie Vince.

While Yeo now leads the award race by one vote, Adam Simpson and Luke Beveridge adjudged Shannon Hurn as the best player afield on Friday.

Simpson and Beveridge awarded Hurn seven out of a possible 10 votes for his 28-disposal and six-mark effort against the reigning premiers.

Andrew Gaff collected six votes for his 35-touch display, Sam Mitchell registered two votes courtesy of his 33-possession, six-mark and two-tackle effort and Jeremy McGovern earned a solitary vote from the senior coaches.

7 Shannon Hurn (WCE)
6 Andrew Gaff (WCE)
5 Elliot Yeo (WCE)
4 Easton Wood (WB)
3 Caleb Daniel (WB)
2 Jason Johannisen (WB)
2 Sam Mitchell (WCE)
1 Jeremy McGovern (WCE)

43 Elliot Yeo (WCE)
42 Rory Sloane (Adel)
36 Clayton Oliver (Melb)
32 Gary Ablett (GC)
31 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
31 Sebastion Ross (StK)
31 Joel Selwood (Geel)
29 Ollie Wines (PA)
27 Marc Murphy (Carl)
27 Jack Steven (StK)