Main content

Latest Videos

WA Draft guns: Tim English

12:10pm  Oct 25, 2016

Mitchell's impressive outing

11:18am  Oct 25, 2016

Trade period review: West Coast

3:15pm  Oct 20, 2016

Eagles welcome Vardy

9:33am  Oct 20, 2016

Board of directors

Alan Cransberg (Chairman):  Managing Director of Alcoa Australia

Began his career with Alcoa in 1980 after graduating from UWA with an honours degree in civil engineering. He worked in Alcoa’s operations from 1981 to 1997, being appointed Pinjarra Alumina Refinery local manager in 1998. In 2001, he moved to the US, spending seven years in a global business role before returning to WA. He played 115 games for Swan Districts, including two premierships in 1982 and 1983. He sits on the board of the Black Swan Theatre Company, the Alcoa Global Foundation and the Foundation to Prevent Violence Against Women and Their Children, as well as being a councillor for the Australian Business Arts Foundation. 

Alan has served as a director of the West Coast Eagles since March, 2008 and became chairman in November, 2010. 

Russell Gibbs (Deputy Chairman): Managing Director and Chief Executive of Hawaiian Group

Russell was appointed as the Director and Chief Executive Officer of Hawaiian in 2000, a privately held WA based property  company, which owns and manages commercial, retail, hospitality and developments portfolio.  He was previously State President and National Councillor of the Property Council of Australia, a member of the Murdoch University Senate Committee and Deputy Chair of Youth Focus.  Russell is currently a Director of Satterley Property Group (since 2009) and Director of St Ives Group (since 2013).  Russell also holds Board positions at the Chamber of Commerce and Arts and the Murdoch University Foundation.  Russell joined the West Coast Eagles Board of Directors in November 2011 and in November 2015 was elevated to the position of deputy chairman, succeeding retiring director James McMahon. 

Trevor Nisbett: Chief Executive Officer of the West Coast Eagles Football Club  

After achieving a bachelor of physical education and a diploma of teaching from the University of Western Australia, Trevor’s career focus turned to football administration. A former player, he was football manager at East Perth in 1981, before being elevated to general manager in 1982.

In 1984, he became football manager at Subiaco before starting his long and fruitful association with the West Coast Eagles. He was appointed football manager in September 1989 and excelled in that role until 1999 when he was elevated to the role of chief executive, a position he still holds.

He joined the board of directors in November, 2003.

Peter Carter: Managing Director of Crosby Tiles 

As the managing director of Crosby Tiles, Peter is involved in several other business ventures, primarily in the building sector. He has been chairman of Crosby Supply and Fix since 2005, has been a director of JH Wilberforce since 2003, a director of Steel Blue since 1995 (chairman from 1996 to 1999) and has been a director of Real Estate Plus since 1999.

He graduated from Curtin University with a bachelor of business in 1979. He is also a Trustee of WA Charity Direct. Peter played 12 games for Swan Districts, including the 1979 reserves premiership, before a knee injury ended his career at 21. 

He joined the West Coast Eagles board in November, 2011. 

Maryna Fewster: Executive Director at Celebrate WA

Maryna started her career in the Telecommunication Industry in New Zealand in the late 90s working for iHug, a New Zealand Internet Service Provider.  Maryna has held executive positions within the Telecommunications industry for over 15 years.

In her latest role as COO at iiNet her responsibility included sales and marketing and operational management of iiNet’s residential division. Passionate about customer advocacy and retention, Maryna embraced and implemented the world renowned Net Promoter Score methodology which has delivered best-in-class service levels to iiNet’s one million customers across Australia. Maryna joined the Board of Celebrate WA as an Executive Director in 2015 and joined the West Coast Eagles in November 2015.

 Chris Wharton: Chief Executive Officer Seven West Media WA 

Starting his career as a journalist, he worked across every area of newspaper management in Sydney before being appointed chief executive officer of Perth’s Community Newspaper Group in 1995. He was then managing director of Channel 7 Perth for nine years before becoming chief executive officer of West Australian Newspapers in 2008. 

In his current role, Chris is responsible for all Seven West Media assets in Western Australia: The West Australian, West Regional Publications (23 mastheads), its online properties, WA Publishers, Redwave Media (nine regional radio licence areas) and Channel 7 Perth. 

He joined the West Coast Eagles board in November, 2013.


Paul Fitzpatrick: Partner - Clayton Utz

Paul has been a partner of Clayton Utz since 1 July 1985 and practises in the areas of Commercial Litigation, Competition Law, National Competition Policy, International & Domestic Arbitrations and Sports Law. He is a former Partner in Charge of the Perth Office of Clayton Utz, and has conducted a wide range of complex litigation, including contractual disputes and cases relating to the Competition and Consumer Act, the Corporations Law, professional negligence, and intellectual property. He was named Competition Lawyer of the Year, Perth in 2013 by Best Lawyers Australia, and has been named by Best Lawyers as one of Australia's Best Lawyers in litigation, competition and alternative dispute resolution.

Paul has represented athletes before Appeals Tribunals and the Court of Arbitration for Sport, and West Coast Eagles players at the AFL Tribunal. He is a legal advisor to the Western Australian Football Commission and the West Australian Institute of Sport (WAIS), is a former director of WAIS and is a current director of the Wally Foreman Foundation Inc.