Main content

Latest News

Venables talks ups and downs on Eagle Vision

Budding West Coast Eagles utility Daniel Venables steals the spotlight in this week’s episode of Eagle Vision

12:00pm Apr 20, 2018

WAFL Round 4: Eagles available for East Perth

East Perth will have 13 West Coast-listed players to choose from for its critical round four clash with Perth

10:20am Apr 20, 2018

At the end of 1953 Australian Football Carnival in Adelaide, the first official All Australian team was selected from the best-performed players from Victoria (VFL), Victoria (VFA), Western Australia, South Australia and Tasmania. The practice continued after each such series until the 1988 Bicentenary Carnival in Adelaide. In 1982, the first AFL team of the year was chosen by the Victorian selectors. With the development of the national competition, the concept was changed slightly and in 1991 the first AFL All Australian team was selected. 

  National Football Carnival All Australian Team AFL Team of the Year
1987 Phil Narkle (WA) Ross Glendinning
1988 Steve Malaxos (WA) John Worsfold
1989 Carnival not held
Guy McKenna
1990 Carnival not held
John Worsfold, Chris Lewis


  AFL All Australian Team
1991 Guy McKenna, Chris Mainwaring, Peter Matera, Craig Turley, Michael Malthouse (coach)
1992 Dean Kemp
1993 Guy McKenna, Peter Matera
1994 David Hart, Guy McKenna, Glen Jakovich, Peter Matera
1995 Glen Jakovich
1996 Peter Matera, Chris Mainwaring, Mitchell White
1997 Peter Matera, Fraser Gehrig
1998 Ashley McIntosh, Ben Cousins
1999 Ben Cousins
2000 Nil
2001 Ben Cousins
2002 Ben Cousins
2003 Phillip Matera, Michael Gardiner
2004 Chris Judd, Chad Fletcher
2005 Ben Cousins, David Wirrpanda, Dean Cox
2006 Chris Judd, Ben Cousins, Darren Glass, Dean Cox
2007 Daniel Kerr, Darren Glass, Dean Cox
2008 Dean Cox
2009 Nil
2010 Mark LeCras
2011 Dean Cox, Darren Glass
2012 Darren Glass (captain), Dean Cox, Beau Waters, Nic Naitanui
2013 Nil
2014 Nil
2015 Josh Kennedy (vice-captain), Matt Priddis, Andrew Gaff
2016 Josh Kennedy, Jeremy McGovern
2017 Josh Kennedy (voce-captain), Jeremy McGovern, Elliot Yeo

 AFL 2017 Media - Virgin Australia AFL All Australian Awards