Main content

West Coast Eagles

Glendinning-Allan Medal confirmed

Ross Glendinning will present the Glendinning-Allan Medal on Sunday

The medal awarded to the best player in AFL Western Derbies has been renamed the Glendinning-Allan Medal.

The new medal name acknowledging the inaugural captains of the West Coast Eagles and Fremantle Football Club, Ross Glendinning and Ben Allan, has been endorsed by both clubs and the West Australian Football Commission.

The first Glendinning-Allan Medal will be presented at the Western Derby in Round 20 of the 2018 AFL Premiership Season on August 5, with the WAFC to coordinate voting with members of the WA football media on a 3-2-1 basis. Joint medals will continue to be awarded in the event of a tie.

WAFC Chairman Murray McHenry said the Glendinning-Allan Medal would ensure that the history of both of WA’s AFL clubs was appropriately recognised and honoured at Western Derbies.

“The WAFC believes that this is a fair and appropriate outcome for both clubs that recognises their inaugural captains and continues to uphold the tradition of presenting a medal to the best player in each Western Derby,” he said.

Ben Allan will present the medal at Fremantle home derbies and Ross Glendinning will continue to present the medal at West Coast Eagles home derbies.

Twelve retrospective winners for each Western Derby from 1995 to 2000 have also been selected by a WA Football Media Guild judging panel including Mark Duffield, Kim Hagdorn and Karl Langdon, with results as follows:

ROUND 7, 1995 - Brett Heady
ROUND 22, 1995 - Brett Heady
ROUND 1, 1996 - Glen Jakovich
ROUND 16, 1996 - Guy McKenna
ROUND 3, 1997 - Drew Banfield
ROUND 18, 1997 - Dean Kemp
ROUND 3, 1998 - Fraser Gehrig
ROUND 18, 1998 - Chris Lewis
ROUND 1, 1999 - Guy McKenna
ROUND 16, 1999 - Adrian Fletcher
ROUND 6, 2000 - Scott Cummings
ROUND 21, 2000 - Clive Waterhouse

These winners have been invited to attend the Round 20 Western Derby on August 5 where they will receive retrospective medallions.