Main content

West Coast Eagles

Round 9: AFLCA votes

Eagle Review - Round 9 Join the boys, thanks to Kennards Hire, as they review and roast as much as they can from our Round 9 win over the Demons. Oh, and Liam Ryan's mark gets a mention as well...

Two-time John Worsfold medallist Elliot Yeo rocketed into the AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year's top 20 this week after snaring nine votes for his stirring display against Melbourne on Friday night.

Yeo collected a near perfect haul from senior coaches Adam Simpson and Simon Goodwin after churning out 26 disposals, 18 contested possessions, seven clearances and a mind-boggling 16 effective tackles against the Dees.

West Coast skipper Shannon Hurn also earned nine votes for his near faultless display in the club’s inaugural Waalitj Dreaming Game.

The 2018 all-Australian amassed 33 disposals, 13 marks, seven rebound 50s and used the ball at an impressive 93.9 per cent efficiency at Optus Stadium on Friday night.

Jeremy McGovern pocketed two votes for his 17-disposal, 12-mark game, while Andrew Gaff took home a solitary vote following his 30-disposal, 10-mark and five-tackle performance.

Reigning Norm Smith medallist Luke Shuey still leads the way for the Eagles on 30 votes, but Yeo is hot on his heels with 28 votes through the first nine rounds of the season.

Carlton captain Patrick Cripps and hard-nosed Geelong midfielder Tim Kelly sit atop the leaderboard with 48 votes apiece.

9 Shannon Hurn (WCE)
9 Elliot Yeo (WCE)
6 Max Gawn (MELB)
2 Jeremy McGovern (WCE)
2 Jayden Hunt (MELB)
1 James Harmes (MELB)
1 Andrew Gaff (WCE)

48 Patrick Cripps 
48 Tim Kelly     
44 Marcus Bontempelli
44 Lachlan Neale
41 Brodie Grundy
37 Travis Boak
36 Nat Fyfe  
35 Gary Ablett
35 Scott Pendlebury
33 Ben Cunnington
33 Lachie Whitfield
30 Luke Shuey
30 Tim Taranto
29 Jeremy Cameron
29 Patrick Dangerfield  
28 Stephen Coniglio
28 Elliot Yeo 
26 Hugh McCluggage
26 David Mundy
25 Dylan Shiel