Main content

West Coast Eagles

Round 16: AFLCA votes

Highlights: Eagles v Dockers Check out all the highlights from our 91-point win in RAC Derby 50!

Gun West Coast Eagles midfielder Luke Shuey has vaulted into equal fifth place in the race for the AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year Award following an inspiring performance in RAC Derby 50 on Saturday night.

The 2018 Norm Smith medallist only trails pace-setter Tim Kelly by 16 votes after collecting eight votes from senior coaches Adam Simpson and Ross Lyon for his 28-disposal, nine-clearance, eight-tackle, one-goal effort against Fremantle at Optus Stadium.

Glendinning-Allan medallist Brad Sheppard (25 disposals, 11 rebound 50s, eight one percenters, seven marks) gathered seven votes, as did indefatigable onballer Andrew Gaff, who amassed 35 disposals, 19 contested possessions and six clearances against the Dockers.

Nic Naitanui (23 hitouts, eight one percenters, six clearances) bagged six votes in just his second game back at senior level, while Jeremy McGovern (15 disposals, 10 one percenters, seven marks) and Jamie Cripps (14 disposals, four tackles, four goals) each pocketed a solitary vote from the coaches.

8 Luke Shuey (WCE)
7 Brad Sheppard (WCE)
7 Andrew Gaff (WCE)
6 Nic Naitanui (WCE)
1 Jeremy McGovern (WCE)
1 Jamie Cripps (WCE)

78 Tim Kelly      
70 Marcus Bontempelli 
68 Lachie Neale
65 Ben Cunnington 
62 Patrick Cripps 
62 Luke Shuey
58 Travis Boak
57 Nat Fyfe  
56 Brodie Grundy
53 Max Gawn
51 Patrick Dangerfield  
48 Brad Crouch
45 Stephen Coniglio
44 Tim Taranto 
43 Elliot Yeo  
42 Gary Ablett 
42 Luke Parker
42 Scott Pendlebury 
40 Dayne Zorko
38 Ricky Henderson