Mineral Resources Park played host to Schoolboys Cup last week, with the Waaltij Division and Eagle Division being played across a two-day format.

In the first match - the Waaltij Division Cup - two early goals from Governor Stirling Senior High School set the scene, with the side keen to continue their winning streak.

But Mazenod College returned serve with one of their own shortly after to keep the game alive.

From there it was a back-and-forth affair, with Governor Stirling Senior High School eventually claiming the win - and their fourth consecutive grand final victory - 6.2 (38) to 2.2 (14).

02:22 Mins
Published on

2021 Eagles Schoolboys Cup

Governor Stirling Senior High School take on Mazenod College in the 2021 Eagles Schoolboys Cup - Waalitj North competition

Published on

In the Eagle division, it was Wanneroo Secondary College that took home the title against Willetton Senior High School, toppling the team 10.9 (69) to 2.0 (12).

West Coast’s Primary Schools & Community Coordinator Brad Dalziell commended the players on their efforts.

“Grassroots football will always be at the forefront of our club, all AFL players begin at this level, so it is vital we continue to support grassroots footy wherever we can," he said.

“It was amazing to see the next generation of young players out there, and we can’t wait to further develop the relationships with these local footy groups.

“It was also awesome to see the smiles on all the kids faces as they played a match where the Eagles train.

“A special thanks also to Governor Stirling Senior High School’s Waaltij Division coach, Sam Cavicchio and Mazenod’s Brad Gardner.

“Another thank you to Wanneroo’s Eagle Division coach Tom Moscarda and Willetton’s Scott Ranford.

“The game was played in fantastic spirit from all involved.”


List of awards below:


Ross Davis Medal (BOG): Josh Pallette (Governor Stirling SHS)

Coach’s Award: Flynn Campbell (Governor Stirling SHS)

Coach’s Award: Josh Mason (Mazenod)


Coach’s Award: Jack Wooden (Wanneroo SC)

Coach’s Award: Ryder O’Brien (Willetton SHS)