Ball magnet Andrew Gaff was the most valuable Eagle afield during West Coast’s round one win over Melbourne, according to senior coaches Adam Simpson and Simon Goodwin.

Gaff collected seven out of a possible 10 AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year votes for a stirring performance that featured 30 disposals, eight marks, seven score involvements, three clearances, three inside 50s and a goal to boot.

Simpson and Goowin deemed electric forward Liam Ryan and immovable defender Shannon Hurn the next best players on the ground, affording them six votes each.

Ryan made a blistering start to his 2020 campaign with a three-goal haul against the Demons.

His game also boasted 14 disposals, nine score involvements, four marks, four intercepts and three tackles.

Hurn might not have chalked up a highlights reel like Ryan, but he was equally impressive.

The former skipper was rock solid down back, amassing 23 disposals, nine marks, eight intercepts and five score involvements.

Dom Sheed pocketed two votes for his workman-like 22-disposal, two-goal performance, while Nic Naitanui collected a sole AFLCA vote for a round one outing in which he accumulated 23 hitouts, 13 disposals and six clearances.


8 Jack Viney (MELB)
7 Andrew Gaff (WCE)
6 Liam Ryan (WCE)
6 Shannon Hurn (WCE)
2 Dom Sheed (WCE)
1 Nic Naitanui (WCE)


10 Travis Boak (PORT)
10 Ben Cunnington (NMFC)
10 Isaac Heeney (SYD)
10 Harry Perryman (GWS)
10 Dylan Shiel (ESS)
10 Chad Wingard (HAW)
9 Brodie Grundy (COLL)
9 Dion Prestia (RICH)
8 Toby Greene (GWS)
8 Rory Lobb (FRE)
8 Jack Viney (MELB)
7 Andrew Gaff (WCE)
7 Luke Parker (SYD)
6 Mitch Duncan (GEEL)
6 Shannon Hurn (WCE)
6 Zak Jones (STK)
6 Lachie Neale (BL)
6 Scott Pendlebury (COLL)