The immortal West Coast Eagles team that claimed the 1992 premiership will tonight be further feted when it is inducted in the WA Hall of Champions. 

The Eagles 1992 team became the first non-Victorian side to win the premiership after fighting back from a two-goal half-time deficit against Geelong to prevail in an outstanding team performance.

The Cats got away to a strong start and were out by four goals approaching half time. It was then that Karl Langdon and Tony Evans combined for two important goals that edged the Eagles to within two kicks at the long break.

Those inside the rooms that day say there was an absolute resolve within the group that they would win the game. And on the back of some Peter Matera magic, who finished the game with five goals to win the Norm Smith Medal, the move of Brett Heady into the midfield and the influence of Dean Kemp and Peter Sumich the Eagles triumphed by 28 points – 16.17 (113) to 12.13 (85).

That break-through triumph came after bitter disappointment 12 months earlier and showed that a team from the west could conquer the challenges of travel and other issues to taste the sweetest victory of them all.

Many of the stars of the 1992 triumph as well as coach Michael Malthouse will attend the event.