Two-time John Worsfold medallist Elliot Yeo led West Coast’s charge at last night’s Brownlow Medal, polling 17 votes to finish in a tie for 13th place in the league best and fairest count.

Fremantle captain Nathan Fyfe claimed the game’s highest individual honour with 33 votes, beating out Geelong midfielder Patrick Dangerfield (27), Carlton skipper Patrick Cripps (26) and Brisbane onballer Lachie Neale (26).

Fyfe, who wrapped up the title with two rounds remaining in the count, became just the 15th player in VFL/AFL history to win multiple Brownlow Medals.  

Yeo snared three best-on-ground honours en route to claiming his highest ever Brownlow Medal votes haul.

He was deemed best player afield for the club’s round nine triumph over Melbourne (26 disposals, 18 contested possessions, 16 tackles), it’s hard-fought round 20 win over Carlton (25 disposals, 16 contested possessions, 10 tackles) and its gutsy round 21 victory over Adelaide (26 disposals, 16 contested possessions, five clearances).

The next best Eagle was joint vice-captain Luke Shuey, who polled a career-best 15 votes last night.

Shuey earned a pair of best-on-ground honours, the first for his swashbuckling performance against Greater Western Sydney in round two that featured 28 disposals, seven inside 50 entries and two goals to boot.

His second three-vote haul came against Hawthorn in round a 15, a match in which he amassed an eye-boggling 39 disposals, 20 contested possessions, 11 inside 50s and a goal.

Andrew Gaff rounded out West Coast’s top three by polling 13 votes to finish tied for 24th place.

He also notched a pair of three-vote hauls for inspirational performances against Collingwood in round three (35 disposals, 13 contested possessions) and Adelaide in round 10 (33 disposals, nine marks, three inside 50s).

Dom Sheed set a new personal best mark upon collecting 12 votes, Jack Darling amassed eight votes and bookends Shannon Hurn and Josh Kennedy earned three votes apiece.

Jamie Cripps, Jack Petruccelle and Brad Sheppard each polled one vote on the AFL’s night of nights.

West Coast did have a big win on the night, with high flyer Liam Ryan claiming the 2019 AFL Mark of the Year for his miraculous round nine grab over Melbourne goliath, Max Gawn.


33 - Nat Fyfe (Fremantle)
27 - Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong)
26 - Patrick Cripps (Carlton)
26 - Lachie Neale (Brisbane)
24 - Tim Kelly (Geelong)
23 - Brodie Grundy (Collingwood)
23 - Dustin Martin* (Richmond)
22 - Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs)
22 - Jack Macrae (Western Bulldogs)
19 - Dayne Zorko (Brisbane)


17 - Elliot Yeo
15 - Luke Shuey
13 - Andrew Gaff
12 - Dom Sheed
8 -Jack Darling
3 - Shannon Hurn
3 - Josh Kennedy
1 - Jamie Cripps
1 - Jack Petruccelle
1 - Brad Sheppard