The club’s first selection in last year’s draft, the speedy youngster from Claremont took out the Club Champion Award by three votes, followed closely by tenacious Irish midfielder Aisling McCarthy.

Lewis and McCarthy were both sitting on top of the leader board with 29 votes after round six, but the 18-year-old pipped McCarthy at the post over the final three rounds.

The pacey midfielder managed a five-point game against Richmond in round eight, where she was also nominated for a Rising Star Award.

This, combined with McCarthy’s second injury of the year, saw the 163cm rookie snap up the Club Champion Award with 40 votes, ahead McCarthy on 37.

In a rare achievement, her outstanding debut season was highlighted when she also won the Best First Year Player, highlighting her terrific inaugural AFLW season.

Lewis’ game reached a pinnacle against Richmond, where she accumulated career-best statistics with 18 disposals, five tackles, two marks and seven contested possessions.

Another of the club’s emerging young players who will be an important part of the future, Mikayla Bowen finished in third place on 35 votes, while the strong Irish flavour in the top performers was galvanised with sisters Grace and Niamh Kelly tying with Maddy Collier on 34 votes.        

Meanwhile, dominant ruck and Eagles stalwart Parris Laurie received the Best Club Person Award, after playing a pivotal role for the team on and off-field.


AFLW Club Champion Awards – Top 10

Isabella Lewis


Aisling McCarthy


Mikayla Bowen


Niamh Kelly


Maddy Collier


Grace Kelly


Ashlee Atkins


Parris Laurie


Emma Swanson


Imahra Cameron


Club Champion

Bella Lewis

Club Champion Runner Up

Aisling McCarthy

Best First Year Player

Bella Lewis

Best Club Person

Parris Laurie