West Coast’s inaugural AFLW captain Emma Swanson will continue to lead the charge in 2022, after retaining leadership of the squad for the third consecutive year.

Swanson was again voted in by the Eagles’ playing list, and will stand alongside Dana Hooker who has also been named in the vice captaincy role for the third year running.

The duo will provide some stability to the group – after the changing of the guard from senior coach Daniel Pratt to Michael Prior – and will do so with ruck and 2021 Club Person of the Year, Parris Laurie who is also heading into her second year as a senior leader.

Meanwhile, West Coast also welcomed Irish superboot and 2021 best and fairest runner up, Aisling McCarthy to the fold as she enters her second year at the Eagles.

McCarthy’s football nous – alongside hardworking nature – made her an ideal candidate for the fourth peer-voted position in the senior leadership squad.

Together, the full leadership group boasts three inaugural Eagles, as well as an accumulated 16 years in the AFL system.

The full AFLW leadership team:
• Emma Swanson – Captain
• Dana Hooker – Vice Captain
• Parris Laurie
• Aishling McCarthy