Midfielder Tim Kelly tonight joined the West Coast Eagles' elite when he won the John Worsfold Medal as the 2023 Club Champion.

Kelly became the 25th individual in the 37-year history of the Eagles to win the club’s most coveted individual honour.

The smooth-moving star won the award comfortably from young forward Oscar Allen, who kicked 53 goals from 23 games to earn a place in the All-Australian squad at the start of the week. 

Under the system where five members of the match committee rate each players’ performance from 0-3 in each game, Kelly topped the poll with 200 votes from Allen on 163.

Just five behind Allen was utility player Liam Duggan who oscillated between defence and the midfield, depending on need, throughout the year.

In fourth position was Jayden Hunt (116), who joined the club from Melbourne as a free agent in last year’s trade period, while retiring veteran Shannon Hurn (102) was the surprise player who rounded out the top five.

Hurn retired after the last game of the season, his 333rd at the club, and edged out emerging ruckman-forward Bailey Williams (101). Hurn played just 13 games in the 2023 campaign.

The revered defender completed a memorable night when he was awarded the Chris Mainwaring Medal as the Best Clubman.

Unsurprisingly, young midfielder Reuben Ginbey won the Emerging Talent award while another retiring champion Nic Naitanui won the award for community service.

Duggan was also one of six people to be awarded life membership, along with teammate Dom Sheed, after each passed the 150-game during the year.

Position Player Votes
1 Tim Kelly 200
2 Oscar Allen 163
3 Liam Duggan 158
4 Jayden Hunt 116
5 Shannon Hurn 102
6 Bailey Williams 101
7 Andrew Gaff 85
8 Alex Witherden 84
9 Tom Barrass 79
9 Noah Long 79